|IN NJ IF YOU HAVE BEEN CHARGED WITH PASSING A SCHOOL BUS YOU COULD GO TO JAIL OR
PERFORM COMMUNITY SERVICE EVEN FOR A FIRST OFFENSE! Attorney Aalsberg Can Help!
|H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C.
Attorneys at Law
1028 Route #23 North, Wayne, N.J. 07470
G-10 Bier Hill Court, East Brunswick, N.J. 08816
1-800-9-RIGHTS or (732) 257-5040
www.GetNotGuilty.com "our name says it all"
Free In Office Consultation
|PENALTIES FOR PASSING A SCHOOL BUS IN NJ 39:4-128.1
- A Fine of not less than $100.00 and
- 5 points on your license and
- Imprisonment for not more than 15 days or community service for 15 days as the court shall deem appropriate or both
- Possible suspension of your drivers license in the discretion of the Direction of the Division of Motor Vehicles.
For a Second or Subsequent Offense for Passing a School Bus in NJ you face:
- The same penalties as above plus an additional $150.00 in fines
In addition to the above penalties for passing a school bus in New Jersey, the cost for insuring your car will
surge for the next three years. This innocent looking little ticket will cost you several thousands of dollars due
to the fact that your drivers license will be charged with 5 points. You may not realize it but the offense of
Passing a School Bus has the same number of points as a Reckless Driving Ticket. However, these 5 points
may be the cheapest part of the violation. This is because, the motor vehicle commission of the State of NJ
may suspend your drivers license for a period of time as determined by the director. The length and time of
your suspension is generally related to the amount of years you have been driving and your driving record. In
general the less time you have been driving or the more tickets you have the longer the suspension. If your
license is suspended due to a school bus ticket think of how you would go about your daily life. You could
lose your job, your house and all that is important to you and your family! Don't let this happen to you, we can
help. Call our office at 1-800-9-RIGHTS or (732) 257-5040 to setup a free in office consultation and learn how
we can help you win, reduce or eliminate the penalties you face with a NJ Passing a School Bus ticket.
The statute of limitations (the time in which the state has to charge you with a ticket for passing a school bus)
is 90 days from the date of the alleged incident. Most ticket in NJ have a 30 day limitations, but this ticket is
one of the few exceptions. This is because in many cases it may take more time for the local police
department to determine whether an offense has occurred. Many school buses today have camera's to find
violators of this offense. This video of the school bus violation is then sent to the police for review generally
by old fashion mail or hand delivered by disc. Therefore, it is not uncommon today to have a ticket mailed to
your house (by first class mail) days or even weeks later after you have forgotten about the offense. However,
if you did not get the ticket at the scene and it is over 90 days that the ticket was mailed to you, you have a
great defense, the defense of time. But this is only a defense and must be properly raised in court to allow for
Defenses to passing a school bus
do exist, but an experienced lawyer
is needed if you want to reduce or
win you ticket. Call our office now
and setup a free in office consultation
to learn how we can help you win,
reduce or eliminate your charge of
passing a school bus in New Jersey.
With over 25 years of experience
fighting NJ School Bus tickets
Attorney Aalsberg can help you!
Passing a School Bus in NJ (39:4-128.1) is a very serious offense for
which you can lose your drivers license, go to jail and even perform
community service. Jail is rare for first time offenders but if an accident
occurred or your case was egregious it is certainly possible. We
understand that you may have a hectic life and understand that
sometimes good people make mistakes. Unfortunately the law does not
take this into account. Although you may have stopped for hundreds of
school buses in your life one mistake is all that is needed to be penalized.
But you do not have to worry, with Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg on your side
you will have the experience of over 25 years of winning, reducing or
eliminating these penalties.
The law states you cannot pass a school bus whenever it is discharging
or picking up children unless the roadway is separated by a divider thats
it. Many people think its legal to pass a school bus if the children are on
the opposite side of the road. WRONG! Other people feel that its OK to
pass a school bus if the school bus is stopped for an extended period of
time. WRONG! In New Jersey you cannot pass a school bus anytime it
has its yellow or red flashing lights on no matter how long the bus is
stopped for. Even if you see no children anywhere in the distance you
must still stop and wait. The reasoning behind this is because the bus
driver may be required to wait for a child or to assist a disabled child on
the bus. We understand that some clients tell us that the bus driver
waived at them to go. This is not a defense in NJ you must stop and wait
until the school bus lights are off. The bus driver is not a NJ law
enforcement officer. Only a police or law enforcement officer can give you
an exception to the law to pass.
Why the Penalties for Passing A School Bus in
NJ are so severe and can result even in Jail?
Our children are considered our most valuable assets and thus
protecting them is the highest priority for our police. Hundreds of school
children each year are injured as a result of motorists passing stopped
school buses. Thus the legislature has made the penalties even when
no children are hurt very severe. Therefore, an experienced and skilled
traffic lawyer is a must to make sure you have the best chance of
keeping your drivers license and not going to jail or performing
community service. No Attorney can guarantee that you will stay out of
jail or not perform community service, but Attorney Aalsberg's 98%
success rate of winning, reducing or eliminating the penalties of a
passing a school bus ticket simply speaks for itself.
*98% Success Rate is based on first offense NJ Passing a school bus tickets handled by Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq.,without any accident involved in the offense. Lower rates apply for our associate and per-diem lawyers
and for 2nd time offenders. Past performance is not indicative of future results. By law no attorney can guarantee a future result.
**Additional Penalties for Passing a School Bus 39:4-128.1 in NJ may apply for CDL license drivers contact our lawyer for details. Copyright 2016 H Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C.
|98% Success Rate
To Win, Reduce or Eliminate
The Penalties of a NJ
Passing a School Bus Ticket
Call 1-800-9-RIGHTS for a Free In Office
Consultation To learn How to Win
Why You Need Attorney H. Scott
Aalsberg, Esq., to Win!
Attorney H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq.,was
ranked by the National Academy of
Criminal Defense Attorneys as one of
the Top Ten Criminal Defense Lawyers,
Selected by the National Trial Lawyers
to be one of its Top 100 Trial Lawyers
and Holds a perfect 10.0 score and
rated a Top Criminal and DWI Attorney
from AVVO Attorney rating service.
This is why he gets results!
H. Scott Aalsberg, Esq., P.C.
Copyright 2021 HSA, PC